Ananda College wins All Island Inter Schools’ Tennis Overall Championship 2012

Monday, 20 August 2012 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Ananda College tennis team emerged overall champions beating St. Peters Colombo at the recently concluded All Island Inter School Tennis Tournament held at Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA).

Ananda College played magnificently throughout the entire tournament beating top tennis playing schools in the country bagging the Under 13, Under 15 and Under 19 championships while Under 17 secured the 2nd runner up position.

Over 400 players representing nearly 25 Schools island-wide took part in this event, which is considered the biggest tennis event at school level organized by the Sri Lanka Schools’ Tennis Association (SLSTA).   

The Schools’ Tennis Tournament commenced in early 1930’s. In the 1960’s and 1970’s the above tournament was dominated by Ananda College.

The significance of this year’s victory was that it was the first time Ananda College clinched the Overall Championship since SLSTA commenced granting the title in


The Under 13 team brought honour to its school by bringing home the championship in their age category after two decades beating St. Peters College at the finals 3 matches to 1. In the group stages the team beat Maliyadeva College 5-0, Royal College 4-1, St. Thomas College Mt. Lavinia 3-2. At the semi finals the team beat St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa by 3-0.

In the finals Dushan Wijetunga played excellently beating L. Maujude of St. Peter’s College 6/1, 6/1 in the first singles match. In the second singles, Nuwantha Dissanayaka beat S. Indujan of St. Peter’s College 4/6, 6/1 and 6/2. In the third Singles, Kavinda Bandara beat Farik Sabur of SPC 6/4, 6/2. In the 1st doubles unfortunately Pasindu Perera and Sanuda Amasith was defeated by Mark Seneviratne and Adil Reeza of SPC 6/4, 6/2.

Contributing immensely to the overall championship the Under 15 team became champions after five years. In the group stage the team beat St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa 5-0, Vidura College 5-0, St. Thomas College Prep School 5-0, St. Josephs’ College 5-0, Royal College Colombo 4-1 and Karandeniya Central 5-0. The team beat St. Thomas Mount Lavinia 3-1 in the semis reaching the finals.

In the finals Nabeel Sabri of SPC beat Harshana Abeyrathna 6/3 6/1 in the first singles. Showing the depth of the under 15 team Yehan Rajapakse beat Meshan Nanayakkara 6/1 6/2 in the 2nd singles. Kavindu Diluka won one of the deciding matches, the third singles beating Krishanthan Rajendrasingham 6/4, 7/5. Under 15 Ananda College doubles dominated all through out the tournament. Proving that the first doubles was won by Pavan Wickremeratne and Ravindu Weerasinghe beating Kavinka Fernando and Nisheth Mendis 6/4, 7/5.

The Under 17 team secured the much important bonus point for the overall championship becoming the second runners up in the tournament beating St.Joseph’s College 3-0 at the third place match. The Under 17 team faced tournament giants in the group stage with much hardship by beating St. Thomas’ Mount Lavinia 4-1, St.Thomas College Matale 5-0, D.S Senanayake College 5-0, Trinity College 5-0, St. Michelle’s College Batticaloa 5-0 and Royal College 2-3 though, unfortunately the team was defeated by St. Peter’s College at the semi finals.

The Under 19 team emerged champions after 16 years beating St. Peter’s College 3-1 at the finals. In the group stage the team beat St. Sebastian’s College 5-0, Trinity College Kandy 5-0, Maliyadewa College Kurugenala 5-0, Lyceum International School 4-1 and St. Thomas College Mount Lavinia 4-1.  In the semi finals the team beat D.S. Senanayake College 3-0.

In the finals Madusha Wijesuriya played superbly to beat Chinthaka Shaveen 6/3, 7/6 in the 1st singles match which was the decider of the final. Continuing the winning journey, Navindra Liyanarchchi and Supun Pathirage won the 1st doubles 6/3, 6/3 making the tie 2-0. Chamode Wijayasekara fought tremendously but unfortunately lost the 2nd singles 6/2, 6/3. In the 2nd doubles Yasitha Rangana De Silva and Narain Weerasinghe won the match being 3/6 down in the first set.  They played well in the 2nd set and the 3rd set winning the match 6/4 6/1.  

The teams were blessed by the Ven. Members of Maha Sangha at the College.  The victory could not have been achievable if it wasn’t for the guidance and support of the Principal Mr. L.M.D. Dharmasena of Ananda College. Vice Principal Mr. Kumara Rodrigo, POG Mr. Jagath De.Alwis and the teacher-in-charge; Ms. Ramya Samaradiwakara contributed greatly to make this victory a possible one.

Old Anandians’ Sports Club - Tennis Wing and parents were equally supportive in achieving this victory. Past Tennis players, Coaches, Teachers, Presidents of the Tennis Wing and Principals laid the much important base through out the preceding years striving gradually towards this victory. Foremost amongst them, Miss Sujatha De Silva and Mr. P. K. De Silva who were instrumental in laying the required foundation.

The victorious teams were coached under the watchful eye of the Head Coach Mr. Anupa C Maththamagoda who has many years of experience. His unique and latest training techniques contributed immensely towards this years triumph. According to the Head Coach, he has managed to coordinate with all personal coaches and was able to guide the team & assistant coaches and the support team to get the best out of all the players. Mr. Maththamagoda was assisted by Mr. Malinda Seneviratne (under 13), Mr. Tharindu Perera (under 15 & under 17), Mr. Dinusha Wijesuriya (under 19), Mr. Prasanna Athauda, Mr. Sylvester Francis, Mr. Chavi Thalagala, Mr. Damya de Silva, Mr. Oshan Buddhika and Mr. Prageeth Polgampola.

Ananda College is proud to have all the above coaches who jointly contributed to the first ever Overall Championship in the College history of 125 years.