Western Province A team Inter-Province Badminton champions

Tuesday, 3 September 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Inter-Province Badminton Champions Western Province – A team members


Overall champions Western Province – A team representatives receiving the winner’s trophy from the Secretary of Sri Lanka Badminton and Western Province Badminton Association President Mohan Wijesingha


Runners-up Southern Province team


Sri Lanka Badminton Vice President Parakrama Basnayake presenting the runner-up trophy to the captain of the Southern Province team

Western Province A team emerged champions at the second Inter-Province Badminton Tournament in Colombo 7 on Sunday.

The champions sealed the Men’s and Women’s singles titles as well as the men’s doubles title to walk away with a 3-1 win over eventual runners up Southern Province who won the women’s doubles.

The championship was organised by the Western Province Badminton Association in association with Sri Lanka Badminton and the matches were conducted at the Mercantile Trust Badminton Courts, at Malalasekera Mawatha, over the weekend.

The champion team consisted of a group of Sri Lanka’s top shuttlers, namely 

Ranthushka Karunathilake, Dinuka Karunarathne, Madhuka Dulanjana, Krishan Dhanushka, Upuli Samanthika, Oshadi Kuruppu, Achini Rathnasiri and Dilmi Dias. The annual event saw top shuttlers from eight provinces around the country in action, including some of the current and former national champions.