Thusitha wins Havies presidency

Monday, 20 July 2020 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Shamseer Jaleel

Former D.S., Havies skipper Thusitha Peiris was elected as the President of the Park Club for 2020/2021 at their Annual General Meeting (AGM), which concluded last weekend at their clubhouse at

Thusitha Peiris

Havelock Park.

Thusitha joined Havies soon after playing for his school, representing Havies from 1993 to 2000 while having led the outfit in 1998. He was in the coaching unit for five years, winning the league in 2012. For his good work, he was appointed as the assistant coach of the National Team in 2010. He was also the Treasurer of the Western Province Rugby Football Union (WPRFU) and the Secretary of Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR).

Thusitha obtained 148 against Tyronne Coonghe, who was able to collect only 96 votes at the AGM.

Meanwhile Havies did not name their rugby skipper for 2020/2021 as the season is likely to get postponed due to COVID-19. They are expected to name the skipper in due course.

Office Bearers Havelock Sports Club 2020/2021

Patron: Gamini Fernando

Vice Patrons: Lal Silva, Ana Saranapala, Jeyer Rodriguez, Dan Ratnam, Anton Benedict, Yoosuf Mukthar, Killi Pulendran, Lucien Rajakarunanayake, Kolitha Gunathilake

Trustees: Ivor Maharoof, Wimal Senanayake

Office Bearers

President: Thusitha Peiris

Vice President: Anuja Premaratne, Rajiv Perera

Secretary: Nirupan Wijayanathan

Assistant Secretary: Gehan Dias

Treasurer: Sammy Akbar

Assistant Treasurer: Nimal De Silva

Bar and Restaurant Secretary: Eranga Katipearachchi

Ground Secretary: Dinuka Perera

Social Secretary: Dominic Alles

Joint Sports Secretary: Roshan Opatha

WPRFU Rep: Alex Nishantha Chanaka

Past President: Romesh Abeywickrema

Committee Members: Rohan Gomis, Mangala Dhanapriya, Thanushka Wickramasinghe

Chairman/Disciplinary Committee: Chaminda Rupasinghe

Rugby Captain 2020/2021: Yet to be announced