Third place at stake, Kandy vs. Dambulla

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 01:12 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The SLC Inter Provincial Cricket Tournament 2019 will come to its third place play off when Kandy and Dambulla battle it out at the Rangiri Dambulla Stadium in a day game today (10).

All eyes on Dimuth Karunaratne

– Pic credit Thusith Wijedoru 

So far in round one out of the three matches played Kandy beat Dambulla which was their only win while Dambulla lost out all their three games. 

Kandy team’s success were their bowlers both Kasun Rajitha and Jeff Vandersay. Thisara Perera did bowl well in the last Dambulla encounter claiming four wickets but he is far from being at his peak, while in batting it was their skipper Dimuth Karunaratne among the runs scoring 39 not out, 44 and 86 but the speed, placement and finding the gaps of his innings is a question if this will suitthe 50 over game.

Meanwhile Dambulla will heavily depend on their skipperAngelo Mathews’ batting, who stood out in their three games. Their main worry will be of the form of their deputy skipperNiroshan Dickwella who is yet to find his form, playing many matches here as well in South Africa. He will be under pressure to perform well in order to keep his place safe for the ICC World Cup squad of 15 players.  

Bowling of Jeewan Mendis and Vishwa Fernando too will be under watchful eyes of the selectors, both being good prospects for the National Team’s ICC WC squad to England next month. (SJ)


10 April (today) Dambulla vs. Kandy at Dambulla

  • Kandy: Dimuth Karunarathne (Captain), Thisara Perera (Vice-Captain), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Pathum Nissanka, Priyamal Perera, Roshen Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Malinda Pushpakumara, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, Chathuranga De Silva, Sachithra Senanayake, Dilesh Gunaratne, Manoj Sarathchandra 
  • Dambulla: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Niroshan Dickwella (Vice-Captain), Danushka Gunathilake, Oshada Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jeewan Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Prabath Jayasuriya, Isuru Udana, Ishan Jayaratne, Sachithra Serasinghe, Vishwa Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Ramesh Mendis