Sri Lanka’s new domestic season kick-starts today

Wednesday, 16 September 2020 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The appearance of Sri Lanka cricketers like Avishka Fernando (Colts) and Kamindu Mendis (Chilaw Marians CC) will make the tournament more attractive and competitive


  • Ten Major Club Youth (U23) matches down for decision

By Sa’adi Thawfeeq

While doubts are being cast on Bangladesh’s proposed Test cricket tour to Sri Lanka due to a difference in the number of quarantine days the team’s players and officials have to undergo, Sri Lanka’s new domestic cricket season for 2020-21 kicks off today with the Major Club Youth (Under 23) 50-over tournament, with ten matches down for decision across the country.    

One of the matches between host NCC and Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) SC, scheduled to be played today, has been postponed for 25 September, as NCC has indicated to the Tournament Committee that due to the adverse weather conditions experienced around the country, they have been unable to get their ground ready to host the match.

The fickle weather is expected to disrupt some of the matches beginning today, as all of them will be played on turf pitches.

The tournament will showcase talented Sri Lankan cricketers under the age of 23 like Avishka Fernando (Colts) and Kamindu Mendis (Chilaw Marians), and several under 19 cricketers. 

Colts will begin the defence of their title by hosting Moors SC at their ground at Havelock Park, while last year’s runner-up Chilaw Marians CC will host Panadura SC at their grounds at Katunayake.

CCC, who won the Premier League title a few weeks back with a side comprising several youngsters, will have most of them at their beck and call for their game against Bloomfield at Reid Avenue.

Twenty-six teams from Tiers A and B are competing for prize money worth Rs. 500,000 (for the winners) and Rs. 300,000 (for the runner-up) in the tournament which will run for 11 days with the semi-finals scheduled for 7 October and the final for 11 October.

There are also individual prize money worth Rs. 50,000 each for the Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Man of the Tournament. These individual awards will be presented at the annual Sri Lanka Cricket Awards night.    

The following are the groupings and matches for today:


  • Army SC vs. Nugegoda S&WC at Panagoda
  • Navy SC vs. Police SC at Welisara
  • BRC vs. Badureliya CC at BRC
  • Chilaw Marians CC vs. Panadura SC at MCG Katunayake
  • Air Force SC vs. Negombo CC at Katunayake
  • Colts vs. Moors SC at Colts
  • Kalutara TC vs. Saracens SC at Maggona
  • SSC vs. Kurunegala YCC at SSC
  • Tamil Union vs. Galle CC at P Sara Oval
  • Bloomfield vs. CCC at Bloomfield