Sri Lanka look to keep series alive

Tuesday, 3 September 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel

Sri Lanka led by Lasith Malinga will be all out to make a comeback in the second T20I which will take place at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium today. 

The encounter will commence at 7 p.m. under lights. 

Sri Lanka who could not defend a total of 174 in the first game due to poor fielding and some irregular bowling in the latter overs will be hoping for a better performance in order to equalise in the series of three matches. Lasith Malinga became the highest wicket taker in the history of T20 internationals with 99 wickets, overtaking Shahid Afridi of Pakistan, in the first T20I against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka is likely to make some changes in the bowling department while the Kiwis are tipped to name the same outfit. The third T20I will take place on 6 September.

Sri Lanka Squad

Lasith Malinga (Captain), Niroshan Dickwella (Vice-Captain), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana.Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara and Lahiru Madushanka.

New Zealand Squad

Tim Southee (Captain), Todd Astle, Colin de Grandhome, Tom Bruce, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor and Tim Seifert.