Sri Lanka announce 37-member squad

Monday, 29 October 2018 01:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Shamseer Jaleel

Sri Lanka’s national selectors announced a squad of 37 players ahead of the Asia Rugby Under-19 Championship, which will be worked off in December 2018 between Hong Kong, South Korea, Taipei and Sri Lanka.

The 37-member squad was finalised following the two selection games that were held between the two combined school teams of Kandy and Colombo.

The leadership role is expected to go to Daiyan Sabar (Wesley), Gemunu Cheethiya (St. Joseph’s), Mohamed Shabeer (St Anthony’s) or Janidu Dilshan (Royal). The touring squad of 25 players under Head Coach Dushantha Lewke and his assistant Mohamed Mushtaq will be named in one week’s time, which will give nearly a month of preparation for the Taipei tour. Defending champions Hong Kong are expected to field a strong outfit which is the sole representative from the Asian Zone for the Junior World Rugby Tournament (JWRT) Division I.

Squad of 37

Props: Pravinda Wijethilake (Trinity), Himantha Hirushan (Royal), Abdulla Faiz (St. Peter’s), Rashmika Chandraratne (Kingswood), Adeesha Handunpathirana (S. Thomas’), Julian Charles (St. Peter’s), Milan Weerasinghe (Kingswood)

Second Rows: Javindu Fernando (St. Peter’s), Ifham Fareed (Royal), Fadhil Adahan (Royal), Harith Senanayake (S. Thomas’) and Kasun Bandara (Sri Sumangala, Kandy)

Flankers: Mohammed Shabeer (St. Anthony’s), Himalka Dhananjaya (Maliyadeva), Daiyan Sabar (Wesley), Risith Fernando (Royal), Tharindu De Alwis (St. Joseph’s), Maleesha Madumewan (Royal), Janitha Rajanayake (Kingswood), Ravindu Anjula (Isipathana) and Janith Wikumsara (Sri Sumangala Kandy)

Scrum Half: Jason Karunaratne (St. Peter’s), Shashika Umayanga (Vidyartha) and Mubeen Faleel (Royal)

Fly-halves: Ishara Herath (Maliyadeva), Kalindu Nandila (Royal) and Tharindu Hettiarachchi (Vidyartha)

Centres: Janidu Dilshan (Royal), Rukshan Madusanka (St. Peter’s), Lahiru Daulagala (Maliyadeva) and Shan Akila (St. Joseph’s)

Wingers: Vishwa Ranaraja (Trinity), Dilan Kavinda (St. Joseph’s), Thuwan Zamil (Lumbini) and Ishara Liyanage (St. Anthony’s)

Fullbacks: Tuan Zamil (Lumbini), Kenneth Wimaladasa (St. Peter’s), Dulanjana Piyatissa (St. Joseph’s) and Gemunu Chethiya (St. Joseph’s)