South Korea to play in main event

Friday, 6 April 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Hong Kong Sevens 2018

Third-placed Asian Sevens team South Korea will play in the main event of the Hong Kong Sevens 2018, which will kick off in the packed 40,000-seat Hong Kong Stadium in Causeway Bay.

Meanwhile, Japan and Hong Kong will attempt to qualify in the men’s qualifier with the winners booking their World Series berth for 2018/2019.

Despite having not recorded a win in the last two years, South Korea have been utilising the experience of playing alongside the best teams in the world to build up their experience and become more competitive in the Asian Sevens Series. South Korea will play Scotland, England and South Africa in the group stages.

South Korea finished third and fourth at the Hong Kong and Sri Lanka Sevens respectively.

Hong Kong is welcoming 40 international teams across the three competitions on offer this weekend, including the World Rugby Sevens Series tournament (16 teams) and the World Rugby Men’s and Women’s Sevens Series Qualifiers (12 teams each). The main reason is that this season has thrown up a Sevens calendar which is overflowing with challenges. From Hong Kong, some teams will be immediately travelling to Australia’s Gold Coast for the Commonwealth Games, before a return to series action at the Singapore Sevens at the end of April.  Fiji are looking for a record fourth victory in a row in Hong Kong and are coming off a win in the last Series leg in Vancouver that moved them into prime position behind table leaders South Africa with Hong Kong. There are three legs to go.