South Korea, China and Sri Lanka to host Asia Rugby Sevens 2020

Thursday, 9 January 2020 01:33 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sri Lanka will aim for a top three finish at the Asia Sevens in order to qualify for the Hong Kong Sevens emerging team event in 2021 


By Shamseer Jaleel

The Asia Rugby Sevens for 2020 will once again take place in South Korea, China and Sri Lanka.

South Korea will host the first leg in Incheon at the Namdong Asiad Stadium on 29 and 30 August. Meanwhile, China Rugby will host the second leg in Huizhou on 12 and 13 September while Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) will host the third leg at the Racecourse Rugby Stadium on 26 and 27 September. These three venues will continue their hosting rights until 2021. All three events will also feature the shorter version of the women’s game.

Meanwhile, Asia Rugby will organise the Under 19 Top 4 competition to be contested between South Korea, Hong Kong, Sri Lanka and Taipei during December 2020. The winner of this event will qualify for the 2021 Junior World Rugby Tournament (JWRT) which will take place in Spain. The host country of this 15-a-side event and the Under 18 Sevens event is yet to be confirmed.