Second round of club rugby league concludes this weekend

Friday, 6 March 2020 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Police produced cohesive rugby this season after a lapse of many decades 

The second round of the club rugby league will come to an end this weekend, with all roads leading to the Cup and Plate segments of the Super 4 but not before the controversial encounter between CR&FC and Police, where CR took their team off the field, bringing the game to a halt 20 minutes before the final whistle. 

The final decision on this or the date of the inquiry is yet to be announced by the governing body Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR).

Army SC (5) and Navy SC (6) are likely to be locked in a close battle as both teams possess an equally balanced side. Kicking could be vital, with Navy holding the edge. The outcome of this game could decide the fifth-place team in the league plus who will be promoted to the Super 4 round for the Cup, which will commence next week.

The final results of this encounter for CR, who lie in third position, and CH, who are seventh, will not have any impact on either team. CR hold an edge with some outstanding players in their camp. Reza Rafaideen, Kevin Dixon and Rahul de Silva will bear a heavy burden to take them through. Meanwhile, CH&FC, led by Rohitha Rajapaksa, and featuring Anuradha Herath, Nishon Perera and Chathura Dilshan, are no pushovers but seemingly lack fitness and teamwork.

Havelocks should not face much difficulty in overcoming last-placed Air Force. They will need a win if they are to avoid another trip to Kandy for the playoffs in the first round of the Super League.

Kandy is likely to continue its winning streak at Nittawela, having had an outstanding season. They are all out to end the season on an unbeaten note. 

March 6 

  • Army SC vs. Navy SC at the Racecourse Rugby Grounds
  • Referee Gihan Yatawara 

March 8

  • CR&FC vs. CH&FC at Longdon Place

Referee Dilum Dheeshana

  • Havelock SC vs. Air Force at Havelock Park

Referee Ishanka Abeykoon

  • Kandy SC vs. Police SC at Nittawela

Referee Priyantha Gunaratne  (SJ)