Second phase training resumes at Pallekelle tomorrow

Saturday, 20 June 2020 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy will host the second phase of training for the national cricketers


By Shamseer Jaleel

Sri Lanka National team cricketers will continue their second phase of training tomorrow at the Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium. Two former captains, Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal, will join the second-phase of the training program organised by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). 

According to a reliable source, the team will be housed in a five-star hotel close to the ground. No player will be allowed to return home or attend to their personal work during this training camp, which will be closely monitored.

Mathews and Chandimal were earlier named in Sri Lanka’s 16-player squad for the two-test home series against England, which was postponed halfway due to the COVID-19 pandemic in March. Mathews also featured in Sri Lanka’s previous home One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) series against West Indies in February/March.

This camp will be worked off until 2 July under the supervision of SLC head coach Mickey Arthur together with Grant Flower (batting coach), Dilshan Fonseka (trainer), and Ajantha Wattegama (physiotherapist). Two additional support staff members have been added to the second-phase training, namely Manoj Abeywickrema (fielding coach) and Rohan Priyadarshana (massage therapist).

All the 13 players who participated in the first phase of the training, which was conducted at the CCC Grounds in Colombo earlier this month, will be part of the action in Central Hills starting tomorrow. Further another 11 players were added – mostly batsmen – which will bring the total number of players to 24. Sri Lanka last played in a home series back in March, winning the One-Day encounters but lost out on the T20 matches.

Training squad: Dimuth Karunaratne, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera, Oshada Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Embuldeniya, Isuru Udana, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep.