Schedule announced for Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens

Wednesday, 28 February 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

World Rugby has announced the schedule for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018) Rugby Sevens competitions, which will take place at the Robina Stadium from 13-15 April. 

The first day of the competition will see the women’s event being contested while the second and third day will see both the men’s and women’s final round being worked off.

At the conclusion of the pool stages, only the top ranked men’s team from each of the four pools will advance through to the semi-finals, while in the women’s competition the top two ranked teams will progress to play for medals. This means that the third- and fourth-placed team will not progress as the top two teams will battle it out for positions five-eight in the men’s segment. Sri Lanka will battle it out with Fiji in the opening game. (SJ)


Group A        

South Africa, Malaysia, Scotland and PNG

Group B        

Australia, Samoa, Jamaica 

and England

Group C

Canada, Kenya, New Zealand and Zambia

Group D

Wales, Uganda, Fiji and Sri Lanka


Group A                

Canada, South Africa, New Zealand and Kenya

Group B               

Australia, Wales, Fiji and England