RTC Premier Cup Raceday 2020

Tuesday, 10 March 2020 00:13 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Irvan Singh shines with a hat-trick, guides Alcazaba back on track



Edwards receiving the RTC Premier Cup 2020 from former Cabinet Minister S.B. Dissanayake with jockey Irvan Singh and trainer S.D. Mahesh


Indian jockey Irvan Singh finished four of the five races among the top three at the RTC Premier Cup Raceday 2020, including a hat-trick of first three places for the Edwards Stable, kicking off a promising horseracing season, at the Racecourse in Nuwara Eliya yesterday on March 8. Singh guided the famous ‘Queen of Nuwara Eliya’ Alcazaba to a comfortable win in the main attraction of the day, the RTC Premier Cup, after winning the RTC Alpine Hotel Trophy on Goldie Girl and the RTC Daily Mirror Cup on Zulu Fantasy. 

Taking the field after almost 11 months, all eyes were on the main race of the day, the RTC Premier Cup, for Class 1 thoroughbreds on a distance of 1400metres. Singh had already completed a double and was left with a final opportunity of recording a hat-trick, riding the famous and reliable mare, Alcazaba, who competed against Baashagar and Western Wind from the Jayaratne Stables and the Carlton owned horse by Anita Dorai. 

Yet, the tough competition was from their own elks from the Edwards Stable – Roswald and Santos, who was guided by Kuldeep Singh to a first-second finish in the main race. Western Wind came close behind at third, but yards away from Alcazaba. Singh’s first win came in the RTC Alpine Hotel Cup, a Class five, 1070metre race, guiding Goldie Girl to win. The next two places were owned by the Jayaratne’s – Crimson Quest, ridden by S. Imran and owned by Mr and & Mrs Gamini Jayaratne and at third Waiting for Glory, ridden by S. Asgar and owned by Hasanga Jayaratne.

“I’m really thrilled to record a hat-trick after almost a year for Mr and Mrs Edwards. My trainer, Mr. Mahesh is as thrilled as me to complete three wins from five races. This is a very good start for the upcoming two races in April. I’m glad that Alcazaba is still in good touch and perfect form, which is a promising fact,” said Irvan Singh, the champion jockey of the day. 

On Zulu Fantasy, Singh completed his second win in the RTC Daily Mirror Cup for Class 4 horses on a 1070metre length. S. Imran finished in at second, guiding Night King, owned by Nishara Jayaratne while the successful trainer for the Edwards Stable, S.D. Mahesh, enjoyed a victorious day, after Stormont, ridden by Kuldeep Singh, finished third, recording a ‘first-third’ finish in the race. 

The petite Indian jockey flagged off the day placing second in the RTC International Women’s Day Cup with Captain Haddock, following winner Another Ace, ridden by S. Imran and owned by Hasanga Jayaratne. Silver Streak, ridden by K. Sanjeewan and owned by Peter Fernando was placed third in the Class 2, 1400metre race.

The only race Singh could not lay his hand on a win or a place was the RTC Hi Magazine Trophy race, which was comprehensively won by the avenging Vigorous, ridden by local jockey S.D. Janaka and owned by Ajantha de Soyza. Gazaki, ridden by L. Sanjeewan and owned by Peter Fernando finished second ahead of Arabian Gold, ridden by Kuldeep Singh and owned by Mr and Mrs Edwards in the Class 3, 1070metre race. 

The RTC Premier Cup Raceday was the first event organized by the Royal Turf Club (RTC) for 2020, after their last racing event, which fell on the fateful Easter Sunday on 21 April last year. Since then, the RTC had attempted to hold horseracing events, but continuous torrential weather prevented any possibility. After this Sunday’s success, the RTC intends to hold the two upcoming events in April, the Magic Million Raceday on 5th and the Governor’s Cup Raceday on 15th on grand scale.    



RTC International Women’s Day Cup (Class 2- 1400m)

1: Another Ace (S. Imran; Hasanga Jayaratne)

2: Captain Haddock (Irvan Singh; Mr & Mrs Jayaratne)

3: Silver Streak (K. Sanjeewan; W.R.M.R. Peter Fernando)

RTC Alpine Hotel Cup (Class 5- 1070m)

1: Goldie Girl (Irvan Singh; Mr & Mrs Edwards)

2: Crimson Quest (S. Imran; Mr & Mrs Gamini Jayaratne)

3: Waiting for Glory (S. Asgar; Hasanga Jayaratne)

RTC Hi Magazine Trophy (Class 3- 1070m)

1: Vigorous (S.D. Janaka; D. Ajantha de Soyza)

2: Gazaki (K. Sanjeewan; W.R.M.R. Peter Fernando)

3: Arabian Gold (Kuldeep Singh; Mr & Mrs Edwards)

RTC Daily Mirror Cup (Class 4- 1070m)

1: Zulu Fantasy (Irvan Singh; Mr & Mrs Edwards)

2: Night King (S. Imran; Nishara Jayaratne)

3: Starmont (Kuldeep Singh; Mr & Mrs Edwards)

RTC Premier Cup (Class 1- 1400m)

1: Alcazaba (Irvan Singh; Deepthika Jayakody, Mr & Mrs Edwards)

2: Santos (Kuldeep Singh; Mr & Mrs Edwards)

3: Western Wind (S. Imran; Gamini, Chamari 

& Nishara Jayaratne)