Prima Champions Cup 2017 concludes

Wednesday, 1 November 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Prima Group hosted the Prima Champions Cup award ceremony on 28 October. 

The final match of the provincial tournament was held on 27 and 28 October at the SSC grounds in Colombo. 

This year marked the 11th consecutive year of the Prima Champions Cup Under-15 inter-district and inter-provincial tournaments. The tournament saw the participation of over 600 players from all around the country. Thirty-nine teams competed against each other and the best players from these district teams were selected for the provincial teams. Twelve provincial teams then competed for the provincial championship.

Present at the award ceremony were the Vice President in charge of domestic cricket K. Mathivanan, Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association President Oshara Pandithrathne, Prima Group – Sri Lanka General Manager Shun Tien Shing, Prima Group, Sri Lanka Deputy General Manager Sajith Gunarathna, Sri Lanka Cricket Tournament Committee Chairman Bandula Dissanayake and Western Province Cricket Association Secretary Anura Weerasinghe. 

The following are the provincial tournament awards: 

  • Best Batsman of the Tournament – L. Kenula Gunarathne – Uva Province
  • Best Bowler of the Tournament – Sampath Nissanka – Western Province – Central 
  • Player of the Tournament – Navod Paranavithana – Southern Province

Final match awards:

  • Best Batsman – Premitha Manoj –Western Province North
  • Best Bowler - Sampath Nissanka – Central Province
  • Player of the Finals – Thasika Nirmal – Central Province
  • Champions – Western Province Central 
  • Runners-Up – Western Province South