Pools announced for HK Sevens 2018

Tuesday, 3 April 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Defending Hong Kong Sevens Champions Fiji will be arriving at their second home for the seventh round of the World Sevens Series which will take place at the Hong Kong Stadium from 6-8 April.

Fiji, New Zealand, Russia and Samoa will play in Pool A. The Pacific Islanders have won two of the last three tournaments and sit on 101 points overall, eight points behind leaders South Africa. Pool B will seeKenya, Australia, Spain and Canada while in Pool C, South Africa will be joined by England, Scotland and South Korea. 

South Korea gained qualification as the 16th team with their runner-up finish in the Asian Sevens 2017. The US, Argentina, Wales and France will form Pool D. 

Hong Kong will also play host to the annual series qualifier, a 12-team tournament taking place on 6 and 7 April at the same venue, the Hong Kong Stadium. The winner will be promoted to the World Series as the 16th team for 2018/2019. Last year Spain won the competition beating Germany 12-7. 

Japan, Uganda, Chile and Georgia will play in Pool E while in Pool F, Papua New Guinea,Germany, hosts Hong Kong and Zimbabwe will battle it out. Pool G will see Ireland, Uruguay, Jamaica and Cook Islands squaring off. 

The World Rugby Women's Sevens Qualifier will take place in Hong Kong. Last year Japan beat South Africa 22-10 to secure core status.(SJ)

Pool A-        South Africa, Kenya, Papua New Guinea and Mexico

 Pool B-        Brazil, China, Kazakhstan and Hong Kong

 Pool C-        Wales, Belgium, Argentina and Poland