Matale Thomians Hockey Sevens on 3 June

Wednesday, 16 May 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel

The Matale Thomians Hockey Sevens tournament for boys will take place at Edward Park on 3June.

Already more than 25 teams from all parts of the Island have registered for the Under-20 segment of the tournament which will be played in the hockey crazy city of Matale. St. Thomas’, Vijaya, Zahira, Christ Church, Sirimavo Bandaranaike (Matale), Royal, S. Thomas’, Ananda, Nalanda, Wesley, D.S.Senanayake, St. Benedict’s, St. Peter’s, Prince of Wales, St Sylvester’s, Trinity, Dharmaraja, Kingswood, Dharmadutha, Jaffna Central, St. John’s (Jaffna), Maris Stella, Joseph Vaz, Bandaranayake (Gampaha), St. Thomas’ (Matara), St. Aloysius and Mahinda have already registered for the competition.

The winners will be presented the A.J. Wijesinghe Memorial Challenge Trophy and also a cash prize. A.J. Wijesinghe was a past principal of St. Thomas’ College, Matale and a former President of the Sri Lanka Schools Hockey Association. 

The first runner-up will receive the late A.P.B. Harasgama Challenge Trophy and a cash prize. Harasgama is an Old Boy of St. Thomas’ and a former President of the Sri Lanka Hockey Federation. The second runner-up will receive the late Squadron Leader C.K.Hulangamuwa Challenge Trophy and a cash award. Hulangamuwa was a former Sri Lanka Hockey player and a former captain of Sri Lanka Air Force, Defense Services and Old Thomian teams. 

The player of the tournament will get the Ranjith Wijekoon Challenge Trophy and a cash prize. Wijekoon was a former Asian hockey player and an old Matale Thomian.The Up and Coming Player of the Tournament will receive the DampiyaWanasinghe Trophy and a cash prize. Wanasinghe was a President of the Sri Lanka Schools Hockey Association and a former Principal of Dharmaraja College. He is a product of Matale St. Thomas’ College. 

The Best Goal Keeper of the Tournament will be presented the M. Maheseratnam Challenge Trophy and a cash prize.Maheseratnamis a former Sri Lanka hockey goalkeeper and an Old Thomian.

Christ Church Matale will be defending their title at this event. Maris Stella, Negombo emerged as the runner-up at last year’s event.

The following hockey players will be felicitated with Golden Awards:Kemangani Suwarnamali Aluwihare, (BMS College), Hameed Mohamed Thahir (Zahira College), Themiya Liyanage (Vijaya College), M.I.M. Anzar, Mahendran Kulandawelu, Mahinda Deegahawatura, Milton Gunawardanas, J. Kahanda and M. Indrawansa Herath (St. Thomas›). Four past teachers from St. Thomas› College who rendered outstanding service will be also be felicitated. They are MannualPille, U.B. Weregama, R.N. Amaratunge and D.G. Karunaratna.