Lanka Cricket Cavaliers Veterans Inter-Club Cricket ‘Sixes’ kicks off on 24 Aug

Tuesday, 20 August 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • 7th edition of the tournament powered by The Access Group 


The 22nd anniversary of Lanka Cricket Cavaliers under the presidency of Tony Gunawardene will be marked with staging of the 7th edition of the Veterans Cricket ‘Sixes’ 2019 on 24 August at the Bloomfield C&AC Grounds, Reid Avenue. 

Powered by main sponsors, The Access Group, the tournament will be battled out between a total of 10 teams of six players – each comprised of five players from the Over-45 category and one player from the Over-50 category. 

This year’s teams will include: Vintage Cricket Circle, Old Parlians, Mercantile Cricket Association, Olcott Schools, Colombo Masters, Old Thurstanites, Galle, Kotte Thomians, in addition to a pair of new entrants: Doctors – Colombo South, Bashers – Doctors.   

The tournament will be conducted in a similar format to the Hong Kong International Cricket ‘Sixes, with last year’s champions, Vintage Cricket Circle seeking to defend their title against all-comers, including last year’s finalists, the MCA. Four special awards will be up for grabs in addition to the main trophy, namely: Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Man of the Final and the Most Senior player to take the field. 

The Steering Committee for the tournament is comprised of: Chairman, Tony Gunawardena, Sirosha Gunatillake, Pemal Fernando, Nevin Noyhar, Manoj Perera, Riaz Farouk, Ravi Subasinghe, Manuja Kariyapperuma, Ravi Subasinghe and Tyrone Perera. 

Meanwhile, the draw for the tournament is set to take place on 20 August at the MCA Pavilion Lounge in the presence of Captains from the participating teams. Notably, beloved members of Sri Lanka’s 1996 world cup winning national squad, Hashan Tillakaratne and Roshan Mahanama will grace the occasion as the Chief Guest and Guest of Honour.