LB Finance, MAS Unichela lock horns for MCA Premier League Knockout today

Saturday, 23 November 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Unbeaten LB Finance, wearing the “league” crown, will go flat out for a “double” when they confront MAS Unichela, in the 27th Singer-MCA Premier League Knockout Tournament 2020, today, 23 November, at the MCA Grounds, commencing 10 a.m.

If rain does not intervene, the final is bound to be extremely interesting as both teams endured a no-result in their league outing on 19 October at the P Sara Oval.

Both finalists had easy passages to the final, LB Finance, beating J. Keells by 09 wickets and MAS Unichela, getting sweet revenge over Sampath Bank, overpowering them by 07 wickets.

LB Finance has still not won the Knockout title, came quite close by being the runners up to Lasith Malinga’s TJ Lanka outfit in 2017/18 season. 

MAS Unichela has won the title three times; first under Malin Silva in 2012 and twice under Chamara Silva in 2014 and 2017. 

The 32-year-old Lakshan Rodrigo has led LBF well for two MCA Premier League seasons  so far and will look up to his stalwarts, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis, Dananjaya de Silva, Angelo Perera and Chathuranga  Kumara to deliver for him. 

The 37-year-old Dilruwan Perera, Sri Lanka’s most experienced spinner, leads MAS Unichela; he is surrounded by some old war horses, such as T.M. Dilshan, Chamara Silva, Mahela Udawatte, T.M. Sampath and Ramith Rambukwella and the new kid in the block, Kamindu Mendis.

Hope the rain will not follow the two teams on Saturday, as LB Finance endured three no-results and MAS Unichela endured four no-results in the league stage.

The Match Referee cum adjudicator is Basil Perera. 

At the completion of the Final, the awards presentation for the “league” and the “Knockout” will take place. 

The teams

   LB Finance team: Lakshan Rodrigo (Captain), Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK), Kusal Mendis, Dananjaya de Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Ranitha Liyanarachchi, Anushka Perera, Rajeewa Weerasinghe, Chathuranga Kumara, Angelo Perera, Kavika Dilshan, Sachin Dalpataado, Lahiru Udara, Angelo Jayasinghe and Thaneesha Weerakoon.  

MAS Unichela team: Dilruwan Perera (Captain), T.M. Dilshan, Chamara Silva, Mahela Udawatte,  Priyamal Perera, Kamindu Mendis, T.M. Sampath (WK), Lahiru Madusanka, Ramith Rambukwella,  Lahiru Jayarathne, Nipun Ransika, Anuk Fernando, Dumindu Thillakarathne, Nuwan Thushara and Lahiru Silva. 

The third segment of the Premier League – the T+20 – will follow on a league basis on 25, 26, 27 and 28 November and 1 December.