Kusal Perera, Bhanuka, Chandimal and Binura return for SA series

Monday, 30 August 2021 02:09 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

South Africans got down to training at the SSC grounds yesterday. Shown are South African fast bowlers Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada during a training session and South African spinner Tabraiz Shamsi at fielding practice 


Batsmen Kusal Perera and Bhanuka Rajapaksa, both of whom missed out on the recently concluded Dialog SLC Invitational T20 League, will return for the white ball series against South Africa starting on 2 September at the R. Premadasa Stadium.

While Rajapaksa, who has recovered from a multiple fracture on his left thumb, is available for selection for both the 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is, Perera, who has recovered from an injured shoulder, is available only for the T20I series.

Also returning to the national squad are former captain Dinesh Chandimal and fast bowler Binura Fernando. Chandimal, who has been overlooked for white ball selection since March by the national selectors, has fought his way back to contention with back-to-back half-centuries for SLC Reds in the Dialog SLC Invitational T20 League. Fernando missed the T20 League for SLC Reds due to an ankle injury.  

A 23-member squad has been named for the six matches against South Africa.

Sri Lanka ODI and T20I squad (subject to Sports Ministry ratification): Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kamindu Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Mahesh Theekshana, Pulina Tharanga, Ramesh Mendis, and Ashen Bandara.

Meanwhile, SLC has appointed a panel of match officials for the upcoming Sri Lanka v. South Africa white ball series. Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Elite Panel and ICC Chief Referee); umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (ICC Elite Panel), Ruchira Palliyaguruge (ICC International Panel), Raveendra Wimalasiri (ICC International Panel), Lyndon Hannibal (ICC International Panel), and Prageeth Rambukwella (ICC International Panel). (ST)


Sri Lanka cricketers trained at the R. Premadasa Stadium. Pictured is bowler Dushmantha Chameera with non-striker Wanindu Hasaranga and fielder Dasun Shanaka during a practice match yesterday