Jadeja, Bumrah return in India squad for WTC final

Monday, 10 May 2021 00:49 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Ravindra Jadeja 
Jasprit Bumrah

Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah made comebacks as India on 7 May announced a 20-member squad for their ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand and the subsequent Test series in England.

Hanuma Vihari, who also missed the home series against England earlier this year, made a return as well. KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha were named in the side, although their participation in the tour is subject to clearing fitness tests.

The squad had a few notable absentees – Hardik Pandya, the seam-bowling all-rounder missed out, along with left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav and pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who returned from long-standing injury problems during the IPL last month.

The BCCI have named four standby players – Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Arzan Nagwaswalla – who will make the trip to England. 

The WTC final, pitting the top two sides in the league standings, will be played at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton from 18-22 June. 

The five-match series against England will start in Nottingham on 4 August.


Indian board yet to discuss IPL offer from English counties