India retains ACC Under 19 Asia Cup title

Monday, 16 September 2019 01:22 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Under-19 Asia Cup 2019 Champions -  Indian Team

Runner-up Bangladesh under-19 cricket team

By Shamseer Jaleel

The defending champions India did remarkably well in defending a low total of 106, beating Bangladesh by five runs at a close final encounter for the Asia Cup 2019, held at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

It was their left-arm seamer Akash Singh, who took three important wickets, and spinner Atharva Ankolekar’s five that shot out Bangladesh for a low 101. The left arm spinner was named Man of the Match. India won the toss and elected to bat on a good wicket but lost wickets at regular intervals, never able to build up a strong partnership. Only Karan Lal (37) and Dhurv Jurel (33) batted with some confidence. In the end they were shot out for a low 106, which looked in no way a winning total, but which their bowlers did remarkably well to defend. 

Taking lease of the wicket, Bangladesh fell in deep trouble soon as well, following India’s path in regularly losing wickets. At one stage they were on 78 for eight, losing all hope. But a fine 21-run partnership for the ninth wicket gave a glimmer of hope for a comeback in the game. However, it was short-lived, as the last two wickets of the Bangladesh outfit were lost for 101, both of them taken by left arm spinner Ankolekar. Sakib fell prey to a poor umpire’s decision that ruled LBW when replays clearly showed he edged the delivery.

The tournament was well organised by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) but hampered by rain in Colombo, as both the semi-finals were washed out without a single ball. This eliminated both the hosts Sri Lanka and the dark horse of the tournament Afghanistan. Earlier in round one, Pakistan was knocked out when they lost to Afghanistan before the semi-final. Sri Lanka too lost their last encounter against Bangladesh, putting them in the group’s number two spot.

India 106 all out in 32.4 overs

Karan Lal 37, Dhruv Jurel 33

Mrittunjoy Chowdhury three for 18, Shamim Hossain three for eight

Bangladesh 101 all out in 33 overs

Akbar Ali 23, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury 21

Akash Singh three for 12, Atharva Ankolekar five for 28

Pix by Chamila Karunarathne