ICC Chief Match Referee Madugalle, Elite Panel Umpire Dharmasena to feature in LPL

Saturday, 21 November 2020 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

ICC Chief Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle
ICC Elite Panel Umpire Kumar Dharmasena

Lanka Premier League 2020 (LPL) will feature a highly recognised Match Referee Panel and an Umpiring Panel to officiate in the league, which, respectively consists of ICC Chief Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle and ICC Elite Panel Umpire Kumar Dharmasena.

Madugalle, a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, who has officiated in seven ICC Cricket World Cups, including the finals of the 1999, 2003, 2015 and 2019 tournaments, will be joined by Graeme Labrooy and Wendell Labrooy, who are members of the International Panel of ICC Match Referees to officiate in the LPL.

Manoj Mendis, a First Class Match Referee of Sri Lanka too will join the Panel of LPL Match Referees.

In the meantime, Kumar Dharmasena, a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, who won the ICC David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year in 2012 and 2018, will be a part of the 11-member LPL umpiring panel.

Dharmasena will be joined by Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella, who are members of the ICC International Panel of Umpires.

Apart from them, Deepal Gunawardena, Hemantha Botheju, Keerthi Bandara, Asanga Jayasuriya, Rohitha Kottahachchi, and Raveendra Kottahachchi, who are Level 01 Umpires officiating in Sri Lanka’s First Class Club Cricket will also take up officiating duties during the LPL.

The Lanka Premier League will commence on 26 November and will be held at the MRICS, Hambantota.


Sony, Sky win broadcast rights for LPL