Dinka heads Referees Society

Tuesday, 12 January 2021 00:47 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel

Dinka Peris


Former Prince of Wales and leading rugby referee Dinka Peiris was elected as the President of Sri Lanka Rugby Referees Society (SLRRS) at their Annual General Meeting (AGM) which took place in Maharagama two days ago.

Dinka will be taking over from Tony Amith after the 2020 season was almost wiped off by COVID-19. Former Antonian rugby player and upcoming referee Kevin Peiris will be taking over the hot seat of Secretary which was held by Dinka for a long time. 

Former Royalist and veteran referee, Shamrath Fernando will continue as the Treasurer. With rugby training getting the green light the season is expected to kick off with the Inter-Club Sevens which will be worked off late February at Ratmalana hosted by Sri Lanka Air Force and played for the Commanders Cup.

Office Bearers 2021/2022

President -Dinka Peiris

Vice Presidents  Brig. Upali Kotuwegedera, Priyantha Gunaratne

Secretary            Kevin Peiris

Treasurer            Shamrath Fernando

Past committee members Rohan Fernando, Irshad Cader

Committee Members Pradeep Wilson, Deepal Punniyawardena, Preethi Kumara, Madhawa Wijesiri

Referee Manager Anil Jayasinghe