Debutants CDB off to a dream start at Singer-MCA Premier League 2021

Thursday, 22 April 2021 00:35 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Debutants Citizens Development Business Finance PLC (CDB) made a dream start, as they fought tooth and nail to beat John Keells by two wickets in the 28th Singer-MCA Premier League 2021, which commenced on Tuesday, 20 April.

Both games billed for Tuesday got off to a late start due to wet outfield after overnight rain.

At MCA, the match was reduced to a 36 overs a side, where the Hayleys Group romped to a comfortable five-wicket win over HNB.

HNB, sent into bat was bundled out for 137 runs in 32 overs, helped by two sensational bowling efforts by Chaturanga de Silva (4/32) and Prabath Jayasuriya (4/25).

Hayleys made short work of reaching their target, doing so in just 17.4 overs, thus earning a bonus point, with Chaturanga de Silva remaining unbeaten on 32* runs off 17 balls with three fours and two sixes while Avishka Fernando top scored for them with 39 runs in 29 balls with two sixes and five fours.

At SSC, the match was reduced to 42 overs a side. John Keells, deciding to bat first, was restricted to 189 in 39.4 overs by the CDB pace-trio – Tharindu Ratnayake (3/30), Lahiru Madusanka (3/30) and Lahiru Gamage (2/39). Ishan Jayaratne held the John Keells batting with a brave 63* off 57 balls, inclusive of three sixes and three fours. 

CDB, chasing a victory target of 190 runs in 42 overs was made to struggle for runs by John Keells bowlers – Chamikara Edirisinghe (4/25) and Dhananjaya Lakshan (2/26). However, they finally got through with two wickets in hand and one over to spare, thanks to the dogged partnerships by Minod Bhanuka (35) and Damitha Silva (20), who put on 51 runs for the fifth wicket and the valuable unbroken ninth wicket stand of 35 runs between Lahiru Madusanka (22*) and Tharindu Ratnayake (22*).

The league will be continued on 22, 25, 27 and 30 April and 4 May with two matches each day.



John Keells 189 (39.4) (Ishan Jayaratne 63*, Chamikara Edirisinghe 32, Dhananjaya Lakshan 22, Bhanuka Rajapaksha 21, Tharindu Rathnayake 3/30, Lahiru Madusanka 3/30, Lahiru Gamage 2/39) lost to CDB 192/8 (41) (Minod Bhanuka 35, Dhanushka Prasad 33, Muditha Lakshan 29, Lahiru Madusanka 22*, Therindu Rathnayake 22*, Damitha Silva 20, Chamikara Edirisinghe 4/28, Dhananjaya Lakshan 2/26) by two wickets. 


HNB: 137 (32) (Dilshan Munaweera 32, Sandun Weerakkody 24, Chathuranga de Silva 4/32, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/25) lost to Hayleys: 142/5 (17.4) (Avishka Fernando 39, Chathuranga de Silva 32*, Kithruwan Vithanage 26, Santhush Gunatillake 23, Lakshitha Rasanjana 2/29, Chamindu Wijesinghe 2/35) by five wickets.