Colombo beat Dambulla to win SLC T20 2018

Thursday, 6 September 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Upul Tharanga thrashed a rollicking 54-ball unbeaten 104 in firing Colombo to the SLC T20 League 2018 Championship title by an emphatic 7-wicket triumph over Dambulla in the final played at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Tharanga’s exhilarating knock was laced with as many as 9 sixes and 6 boundaries as he took the Dambulla bowling attack to the cleaners as Colombo made 167 for 3 wickets in 18.2 overs in reply to Dambulla’s 163 for 8 in 20 overs. Tharanga finished the decisive contest smacking Isuru Udana for a boundary. With him was Shehan Jayasuriya on a fine 35 off 22 balls containing 3 boundaries and a six.

Dambulla, batting first maintained a run rate of 8.15 in posting a creditable total steered by a 40-ball 57 by Ramith Rambukwella packed with 7 boundaries and 3 sixes. Hasitha Boyogoda made a pleasing 22-ball 40 with 3 boundaries and 2 sixes.

Colombo’s Jeevan Mendis claimed 2 for 27 and Akila Dananjaya 2 for 37.

Colombo overcame the loss of two early wickets to recover from 1 for 3 and 2 for 41 as Tharanga figured in a 36-run alliance for the third wicket with Priyamal Perera who made 12 off 14 balls to take the total to 77 for 3 off 10.2 overs. From that point it was just a cakewalk for Colombo with the inform Tharanga combining in an unfinished 90-run partnership for the fourth wicket to claim the title in style.

Chief scores:

Dambulla 163/8 (20 Overs) Run Rate: 8.15

(R.L.B. Rambukwella 57, H. Boyagoda 40, P.W.H. de Silva 22, S. Samarawickrama 10,

B.M.A.J. Mendis 2/27, A. Dananjaya 2/37)

Colombo 167/3 (18.2 Overs) Run Rate: 9.1

(W.U. Tharanga n.o. 104, G.S.N.F.G. Jayasuriya n.o. 35)