Grand Alliance relaunches JCX with Trans-Pacific West Coast service enhancement

Monday, 14 March 2011 00:34 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Grand Alliance members Hapag-Lloyd (HL), Nippon Yusen Kaisha (NYK), and Orient Overseas Container Line (OOCL) have announced the enhancement of their Trans-Pacific West Coast services.

The Japan China Express (JCX) will be relaunched, in conjunction with the competitive restructuring of the Central China Express (CCX), South China Sea Express (SCX), and Super Shuttle Express (SSX), offering an improved and efficient Grand Alliance service network.

Effective 15 May 2011 at Qingdao, the JCX will cover the Japanese ports currently called by the SCX, in addition to Qingdao port, which is currently called by the CCX. In addition, a new direct Kwangyang eastbound call will be introduced.

The above enhancement will improve the CCX schedule by concentrating coverage to Central China and Pusan, while the SCX will provide a competitive transit from Vietnam’s Cai Mep deepwater port to Los Angeles. The SSX will offer a super shuttle express to the market from South China and Hong Kong together with direct coverage in Fuzhou.

The port rotations of the JCX, CCX, SCX, and SSX will be as follows:

JCX relaunch effective 15 May: Qingdao - Kwangyang - Kobe - Nagoya - Tokyo - Sendai - Los Angeles - Oakland - Tokyo - Nagoya - Kobe - Qingdao

CCX rotation effective 19 May: Ningbo - Shanghai (Waigaoqiao) - Shanghai (Yangshan) - Pusan - Los Angeles - Oakland - Pusan - Ningbo

SCX as of 8 May: Laem Chabang - Singapore - Cai Mep - Kaohsiung - Los Angeles - Oakland - Kaohsiung - Shekou - Laem Chabang

SSX implemented 14 May: Yantian - Shekou - Hong Kong - Long Beach - Kaohsiung - Fuzhou - Xiamen - Hong Kong - Yantian

The GA continues to offer competitive, reliable, and efficient service products in response to customers’ requirements.

The Grand Alliance, formed in 1998, is one of the leading consortia in global container shipping. Its members are Hapag-Lloyd (Germany), NYK (Japan), and OOCL (Hong Kong).