First Triple-E named Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller

Monday, 8 July 2013 00:25 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

At the recent official naming ceremony held in Okpo, South Korea, Ane Mærsk Mc-Kinney Uggla, had the honour of naming the first vessel. Maersk Line’s newest vessel, the first of the Triple-E series, was named Friday morning in a ceremony at the Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering (DSME) shipyard in Okpo, South Korea. It bears the name of the late owner of the company, Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller, who passed away last year at the age of 98. Maersk Line CEO, Søren Skou, began the ceremony by welcoming all the special guests and recounting the important tradition of naming ceremonies in Maersk ever since the first event in 1906 welcomed Peter Mærsk as the second vessel in the fleet. He then handed the podium and the honour of naming the first Triple-E vessel to Ane Mærsk Mc-Kinney Uggla, the youngest daughter of Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller. “I name you Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller,” she said. “As you sail the waters of the world, may your journeys be smooth and your tasks successful. May you bring happiness to your crew, may you be a safe haven for all who board you and may you bring pride and prosperity to all. I wish you Godspeed!” The Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller is the largest ship in the world, and along with the other 19 Triple-E vessels on order from DSME, sets new standards in the container industry, not just for size, but also of energy efficiency and environmental performance. With unique design features for slower speeds and maximum efficiency, this vessel will emit 50% less CO2 per container moved than the current average on the Asia-Europe route. The 20 Triple-E vessels will be phased in gradually over the next couple of years on the existing route between Asia and Northern Europe (AE10). Guests at the ceremony included Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller’s two other daughters, Leise Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller and Kirsten Mærsk Mc-Kinney Olufsen, Danish ambassador to Korea Peter Lysholt Hansen, members of the vessel crew, and representatives from Maersk Line, Maersk Maritime Technology and the DSME shipyard. Special guests standing with Ane Maersk Mc-Kinney Uggla and Jae-ho Ko, President and CEO of DSME, include Chairman of the Board of Directors of A.P. Møller - Maersk A/S Michael Pram Rasmussen, members of the Mc-Kinney Møller family, captains and first engineers of the vessel, and Danish ambassador to Korea Peter Lysholt Hansen.