Dr. Priyath B. Wickrama wins Seatrade’s ‘Young Person in Shipping Award 2013’

Monday, 13 May 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

On Friday 10 May 2013, over 350 of the maritime industry’s key players united for an evening of celebration and networking as the award winners were announced at the 25th anniversary celebrations of Seatrade Global Awards Ceremony Dinner in the presence of IMO Secretary-General Koji Sekimizu, Chairman of the panel of judges of the Seatrade Awards, in the splendid surroundings of London’s Guildhall in London UK. 

The members of the maritime community celebrated the outstanding contributions made over the last year for safe, efficient and environmentally friendly shipping. Chairman of SLPA Dr. Priyath B. Wickrama won the coveted accolade ‘Seatrade Young Person in Shipping Award 2013’ at the ceremony. The award is presented to an individual under 40 who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry. A few days ago he was also elected the 3rd Vice President of the International Association of Ports and Harbours (IAPH) Asia/Oceania region in Los Angeles in USA on 7 May 2013.

Dr. Wickrama has been the Chairman of Sri Lanka Ports Authority since 2008, growing the hub status of Sri Lanka’s maritime arena with his innovative ideology and exemplary business mindset. Strengthening his capacity, he has a Doctorate in Operations Management by the International University of America in the United Kingdom.  Graduated from University of Moratuwa with a BSc Honours in Mechanical Engineering, Dr. Wickrama has a broad vicinity of blending his engineering concepts into the maritime perspective. Exploiting that capability, he is leading the two mega port development projects carried out in the Sri Lankan history of shipping – Mahinda Rajapaksa Port Development in Hambantota and Colombo Port Expansion Project to set up a competitive platform in South Asian region by venturing new market opportunities.

Dr. Wickrama was awarded as the ‘Most Outstanding Young Person in Sri Lanka, 2010’ by HSBC for the contribution granted in ‘Economic Accomplishment’. In 2011 he was awarded as the ‘Most Outstanding Citizen’ by the International Association of Lions Club for the renowned leadership demonstrated in the field of outstanding constructions for national development and awarded the ‘Young Person of Sea Trade Middle East and Indian Sub Continent’ as well.

At the Seatrade Global Awards Ceremony 2013 held in London, UK, 11 awards were presented to the international maritime personalities. The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Li Shaode, Chairman, China Shipping (Group) Company. A special Seatrade Award for Countering Piracy, which was awarded to Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, UAE, was accepted on his behalf by Abdulrahman Al-Mutaiwee, UAE Ambassador to the UK.  The IMO 2013 themed award ‘Sustainable Development – IMO’s contribution beyond Rio+20,’ in support of the IMO’s theme for World Maritime Day for 2013 was awarded to AP Moller Maersk. The Seatrade Global Performer 2013 Award presented to Saleh N. Al-Jasser, CEO, Bahri recognises the recent merger between the National Shipping Company of Saudi Arabia (NSCSA) and Vela.

The winner of the ‘Safety at Sea’ category was ClassNK and the award was collected by Noboru Ueda, Chairman and President of the Japanese classification society. Winner of the ‘Clean Shipping’ category was WR Systems Ltd. and the honour was received by David Edwards, President and COO of the company. Winner of the ‘Innovation in Ship Operations’ was Lankhorst Ropes and the award was received by Steven Wardenier, Commercial Director.  Winner of the ‘Investment in People’ award was Maritime Skills Alliance and the honour was received by Nigel Palmer, OBE, Chairman of the alliance.