Visakha’s swimmers dominate aquatic sports

Saturday, 30 October 2010 03:56 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Visakha’s senior swimmers with 221 points emerged Womens National Champions at the 2010 National Aquatic Championships held at Ananda College swimming complex recently.

The juniors emerged second Runners-Up at the Junior National Championships.

Nadeera Jayasekera, top national swimmer for Visakha clinched 02 Golds, 01 Silver and 01 Bronze to her personal credit while Hashini Mathew won 01 Silver. The Visakians came with flying colours winning first places in 04 relays and a second place in one. In the junior category Sewwandi Perera grabed one Gold and two Bronze medals. The juniors secured three 3rd places in relay events.

Visakha’s victorious team at the National Aquatic Championships comprised Damya Seneviratne, Karieshinie Peiris, Nadeera Jayasekera, Dunya Perera, Hashini Mathew, Cherani De Silva, Chathurika Perera and Charindee Weerasinghe.

Visakha’s aquatic teams also attribute their success to the unstinted support of the Principal Mrs. Sandamalie Aviruppola, Deputy Principal Miss. Sujatha Devendra, Teacher-in-Charge of Physical Training Mrs. Muditha Liyanapathirana and the Teacher-in-Charge of Swimming Mrs. Jayani Jayaweera.  

Nishantha De Costa, Head Coach for Visakha trained the team with dedication and not only placed the young swimmers in the box seat for the year 2010 but also created history by winning this great event.  

The Visakians performed brilliantly to win the Junior Nationals Diving Championships with Nethmi Liyanage winning 02 Gold Medals in the 01m and 03m spring board diving events. Yenushka Senanayake won a Bronze in the 01m spring board diving event while Nethmi Liyanage was judged the Best Diver in the Girls Junior National category.

The graceful Synchronized Swimmers - Malveena Jayawardana, Yoshini Liyanage, Elisha Gomes, Limashi Kosgodage and Aneka Abeywickrama were trained by Miss. Rovini Illukumbura and carried away the National Synchronized Trophy.

Second Row (standing left to right) - Shaleena Peiris, Sithumi Karunaratne, Amodini Jayawardane, Dewni Jayasinghe, Thusari Ekanayake, Disuri Kalara, Chathurika Perera, Thisuri Mendis, Gihini Nawela, Nadishka Senanayake,Rashmi Jayasinghe. First Row (standing left to right) - Yenushka Senanayake, Sewwandi Perera, Charindee Weerasinghe, Cherani De Silva, Nadeera Jayasekera, Hashini Mathew , Dunya Perera, Janeethri Kulawardane. Seated (left to right) Damya Seneviratne (Captain), Mrs. Jayani Jayaweera (Teacher-in-Charge), Miss. Sujatha Devendra (Deputy Principal), Mrs. Sandamali Aviruppola (Principal), Mrs. Muditha Liyanapathirana (Teacher in Charge Physical Training), Mr. Nishantha de Costa (Head Coach), Karieshinie Peiris (Vice Captain)