SMB Leasing further strengthens Directorate

Wednesday, 24 November 2010 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

SMB Leasing Plc (SMBL) has announced the appointment of a new Independent Non Executive Director and a Non Executive Director to its board of directors with effect from 9 November 2010.

Thirunavukarasu Someswaran and Dr. Thirugnanasambandar Senthilverl succeed E. T. L. Ranasinghe and P. A. Jayawardena on the SMBL board.

T. Someswaran is a Fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and serves as a Director on the Boards of Serendib Land Plc and Panasian Power Ltd.

He was the founding partner of SJMS Associates, Chartered Accountants, a multi disciplinary Professional Firm, as an independent Correspondent firm to Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.

He serves on the Boards of the International Chamber of Commerce and the European Chamber of Commerce. He is also a fellow member of the Institute of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka and serves on its Governing Council.

Dr. Senthilverl serves as a director on the boards of many institutions including Amana Takaful Insurance Plc, Lanka Ceramics Plc, Citizens Development Business Finance Plc, C. W. Mackie Plc and CT Land Developments Plc. He has more than four decades of experience and active engagement in manufacturing, trading, land development, power and energy, industrial turnkey projects, construction and management. “Dynamic and knowledgeable individuals of diverse backgrounds are an asset to any organisation,” said Surath Peiris, Executive Director of SMBL. “These eminent individuals will add further depth and balance to our board.”

A Public Limited Liability Company incorporated in Sri Lanka on the 3 September 1992 under the Companies Act No. 17 of 1982 and re-registered under the provisions of the Companies Act No. 7 of 2007, SMB Leasing is registered as a finance leasing establishment under the Finance Leasing Act No. 56 of 2000 (as amended). The Company’s Ordinary (voting) shares have been listed on the Colombo Stock Exchange since 1993 and its non-voting shares since 2006.  

Consequent to the latest appointments, the board of directors of SMB Leasing Plc comprises R. S. W. Senanayake, M. S. I. Peiris, R. Renganathan, G. C. B. Ranasingha, A. N. Bahaudeen, U. Gautam, J. C. Korale, T. Someswaran and Dr. T. Senthilverl.