Pathirage appointed to NDB Bank Board

Monday, 21 February 2011 00:54 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Business leader Asoka Pathirage has been appointed to the Board of Directors of NDB Bank.

The appointment is Pathirage’s first in a commercial bank and follows the vacancy created by the resignation of shareholder director Dr. Sena Yaddehige late last year.

Pathirage co-founded Softlogic in 1991 and has served the Softlogic Group as the Managing Director from the inception. He was appointed as the Chairman of the Group in 2000 and is also the Chairman of Uniwalkers and Softlogic Finance Plc formerly known as Capital Reach Leasing Plc.

He is one of the most dynamic and successful businessmen in Sri Lanka and is also the Chairman/Managing Director of Asiri Group of Hospitals comprising  Asiri Surgical Hospitals Plc, Asiri Hospital Matara Ltd., Medi House Ltd., Asiri Central Hospital Plc and Central Hospital Ltd., and Managing Director of Asiri Hospitals Plc, Asiri Diagnostic Services Ltd. and other subsidiaries of the Asiri Group.

Softlogic’s diverse holdings include business and technology solutions, automobiles, consumer electronics, furniture interiors and health care, finance.

The Group’s reach extends even farther, to Australia and Pakistan, where Softlogic has a presence in integrated software solutions and services. The company is also the agent in Sri Lanka for the renowned global airline booking system, ABACUS.

Pathirage started his career at a leading blue chip company in Sri Lanka and has over 25 years of experience at senior managerial capacity in the Information Technology industry and in the business world.

He was instrumental in bringing the Softlogic Group from a humble software development company into a very successful, heavily diversified group of companies with an annual turnover of US$ 100 million.

Following Pathirage’s appointment, the Board of Directors of NDB Bank comprises P.M. Nagahawatte (Chairman), Russell De Mel (CEO and Director), Hemaka Amarasuriya, G.C.B. Wijeyesinghe, Lal de Mel, Richard Vokes, Nihal Welikala, Trevine Jayasekara, Kimarli Fernando, H.A. Siriwardena, D.S.P. Wikramanayake, G.D.C. Ekanayake and A.K. Pathirage.