Pakistan omit Yousuf for New Zealand tour

Wednesday, 1 December 2010 00:41 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

KARACHI (Reuters) - Pakistan omitted senior batsman and former captain Mohammad Yousuf Tuesday from their squads for their tour of New Zealand next month.

Yousuf, one of Pakistan’s leading test batsmen, had to return home with a groin injury from Dubai last month without playing in the tests against South Africa. He has subsequently played domestic cricket.

He was not named in either the test or Twenty20 squads announced by The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) while wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal and leg-spinner Danish Kaneria have again been overlooked.

“The one-day squad will be announced later on as first the team plays three T20 matches and two tests, and the ODI series starts from January 22,” a PCB spokesman said.

The selectors also ignored another former captain, Shoaib Malik, although he has been in prime form in domestic matches, scoring three successive hundreds including a double century.

They included Younus Khan in the T20 squad although he had announced his retirement from the shortest form of the game after leading Pakistan to victory in the World Cup last year.

Pakistan will play two tests, starting on December 26 in Auckland, followed by three T20 games and six one-day internationals.

Chief selector, Mohsin Khan said the selectors had picked only those players cleared to play by the PCB.

“At the moment we have announced the best available combination of seniors and juniors,” he said.

Former test captain Salman Butt and opening bowlers Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif are currently suspended by the International Cricket Council following allegations of spot-fixing in the fourth test against England this year.

T20 squad:

Shahid Afridi (captain), Muhammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shahzad, Younus Khan, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz (subject to fitness).

Test squad:

Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Muhammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umar, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Adnan Akmal, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz (subject to fitness), Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman.