FITIS leads APICTA 2010 delegation from Sri Lanka

Sunday, 10 October 2010 22:58 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Chairman of the Federation of IT Industry Sri Lanka (FITIS) Govind Nangrani will lead a delegation of over 30 ICT professionals attending the Asia Pacific ICT Alliance Awards 2010, held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 12 to 16 October.

Winners of national level ICT competitions from 16 Asia Pacific countries compete in APICTA Awards in 16 different categories of e-government, e-learning, tourism and hospitality, media and entertainment, communications, financial industry applications, industrial applications, e-logistics and supply chain management, security, tools and infrastructure applications, research and development, e-health, start-up companies, e-inclusion and e-community and  secondary and tertiary student projects.

The secondary school category winners are selected through the YCS (Young Computer Scientist) Awards, annually organised by the Software Chapter of FITIS which was formerly known as SLASI. Winners of the commercial categories and tertiary student projects are selected through the National Best Quality Software Awards conducted by the BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT, Sri Lanka Section.

Several experienced judges from Sri Lanka are also participating at the APICTA 2010. Headed by Prof Gihan Wickremanayake, the Panel of Judges includes Ruwan Amarasekara, Geethapriya Tiilekaratne, Vajeendra Kandegamage and Zulfer Hassen. Dr. Dileepa de Silva, a well known IT consultant in Sri Lanka who also plays an advisory role at APICTA, will join the Sri Lankan delegation.

According to Shanta R. Yapa, who acts as the APICTA Economy Coordinator for Sri Lanka, the local delegation comprises national level winners who will present 17 products at the international competition. The APICTA Awards provides an ideal opportunity to Sri Lankans to position and promote world class ICT innovations developed locally.