Wimal questions yahapalanaya; points to 53 ministerial types

Friday, 23 January 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Jathika Nidahas Peramuna (JNP) Leader Wimal Weerawansa yesterday questioned the “yahapalanaya” promised to voters by the Maithripala Sirisena-Ranil Wickremesinghe nexus. He said that during the campaign it was promised that Cabinet Ministers would be limited to 25 but it had now increased to 29 and with State Ministers and Deputy Ministers the number was 53. “Forget the 100-day program but within 10 days they have broken promises. Is this how they promised to eliminate waste?” queried Weerawansa. He said that there were only 49 MPs of UNP in Parliament and of the 53 ministerial types 40 are from UNP. “So in effect Maithripala has appointed a UNP Government,” Weerawansa added.