UNP orders crossover MPs to vote against impeachment

Wednesday, 9 January 2013 02:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The main opposition United National Party is to issue a writ to all members of parliament elected under the elephant symbol in the 2010 Parliamentary Election that they are to vote against the impeachment motion on Friday (11).

A total of 16 legislators have crossed over to the Government despite having been elected on the UNP ticket, including eight Sri Lanka Muslim Congress MPs.  UNP General Secretary Tissa Attanayake said that the UNP’s Parliamentary Group had unanimously agreed to be present and record their votes against the impeachment of Chief Justice Shirani Bandaranayake because the Supreme Court ruling and the subsequent ruling by the Court of Appeal had declared the PSC report that found her guilty, null and void.

Meanwhile, UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe speaking in Parliament, appealed to the Speaker to abide by the Supreme Court ruling on the PSC and refrain from getting into a confrontation with the country’s judiciary.