Students participating in 18th Asia Physics Olympiad meet President

Saturday, 22 April 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}



The Sri Lankan group of students who are leaving for Russia to participate in the 18th Asia Physics Olympiad Competition met President Maithripala Sirisena on 20 April.

The group of students comprised K. D. M. Amaya Dharmasiri from Maliyadewa Girls’ School, Kurunegala, R. P. Nisal Punsara from Rahula College, Matara, U. P. Chathura Jayasanka from Richmond College, Galle, M. B. S. Dimal Thanuka from Royal College, Colombo, Muhammad Aflal Muhammad Afam from St Joseph’s College, Trincomalee, A. K. A. Randula from Royal College, Colombo, T. M. S. Samarakoon from Ananda College, Colombo and P. G. S. Chathuranga Bandara from Maliyadewa College, Kurunegala. 

The President offered Rs. 100,000.00 each to the students to supplement their expenses.

The competition will be held at the Yakutsk University in the Siberia state in Russia from 1 May with participation of 22 Asian countries. The President directed the officials to provide required facilities to the students. 

The President has given instructions to the officials to inform the Embassy of Sri Lanka in Russia, on providing necessary air travel facilities to these students to travel to Yakutsk University.

Secretary to the President P.B. Abeykoon and Coordinator in Sri Lanka for International Physics Olympiad competition Prof. S.R.D. Rosa participated in this event.