Steering Committee to present report to P’liment

Thursday, 28 July 2016 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Government yesterday announced the Steering Committee would present an interim report to the Constitutional Assembly, which in this case is the Parliament, to be deliberated on before the formal drafting of the new Constitution can begin.

A statement from the Steering Committee Secretary Neil Iddawala who is also the Chief of Staff and Parliament Deputy Director General however failed to give dates for the report being presented to Parliament. 

“Having considered the reports of the sub-committees and further deliberations, the Steering Committee will present an interim report to the Constitutional Assembly for its considerations. Based on consensus reached on general merits of the Report, the drafting of the Constitution Bill will commence,” the statement said. 

Consequent to the appointment of the Steering Committee and six sub-committees on Fundamental Rights, The Judiciary, Law and Order, Centre-Periphery Relations, Public Service and Public Finance by the Constitutional Assembly, regular meetings have been held by the respective committees on the respective subject areas. 

Experts who have been appointed by the Constitutional Assembly as well as other resource persons and experts in the relevant fields have been aiding and assisting the deliberations of the committees.

Whilst the reports of the sub-committees will be made available to the Steering Committee in the first week of August, the Steering Committee has had extensive deliberations on Electoral Reforms and has commenced discussions on the form of government and the principles of devolution.

The Steering Committee has also heard representations of political parties who have also sent in written representations in response to published notices. The sub-committees have also met a wide range of persons and organisations in respect of their respective subjects. The Report of the Public Representation Committee is also being considered by the sub-committees.