SLPA and SLRC to present Swarna Theertha Miyesiya on Sunday

Saturday, 3 August 2013 00:22 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

‘Swarna Theertha Miyesiya’ an exclusive musical and discussion programme produced by Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation in collaboration with the Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) will be telecast on National Television on 4 August 2013 at 10:10 p.m. The program has been produced and would be telecast parallel to the opening of Colombo Port Expansion Project and its first container terminal namely the Colombo International Container Terminal (CICT) on 5 August 2013 with the initiative of President Mahinda Rajapaksa. The discussion table of the program include Parliamentarian Puravidya Chakrawarthi Ven. Ellawala Medananda Thero, Permanent Secretary to the President Lalith Weerathunga, Secretary of the Ministry of Port and Highways Ranjith Pemasiri, Chairman of Sri Lanka Ports Authority Dr. Priyath Bandu Wickrama, Veteran journalist Edwin Ariyadasa, AFP journalist Amal Jayasinghe and the Former President of CASA and the Director Star Lanka Shipping Nimal Ranchigoda. The panel will discuss and present points, matters and information pertaining to the objectives, the historical timeline of the Colombo port since its inception, the modern trends of socioeconomic development in Sri Lanka, the guidance given by President Mahinda Rajapaksa in the current developmental drive, the travel pasture of the East, importance of expanding the Port of Colombo parallel to the ongoing development projects, the country’s strategic implementations to win business challenges of the future and the importance of securing and safeguarding the traditions amidst modern economic development. The program will also feature popular artists Rohana Beddage, Bandula Wijeweera, Edward Jayakodi, Charitha Priyadarshani Peiris, Uresha Ravihari, Harshana Dissanayake, Nilukshi Jayaweerasingham, Sahan Ranwala and Jananath warakagoda. The program will be conducted by compere Asela Bandara.