Parliamentary delegation leaves to India

Monday, 1 August 2011 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

A group of Sri Lanka parliament members left for India yesterday on a five-day official visit on an invitation of the Indian Speaker Meena Kumari.

The team of lawmakers led by Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa comprised Ministers Dinesh Gunawardena, W.D.J. Seneviratne, Rishad Bathiudeen, Muttu Sivalingam and MPs Rajiva Wijesinha, S. Adaikalanathan, D.L. Swaminathan and Malinie Fonseka.

The tour is aimed at strengthening the parliamentary relationship between the two countries.

The Indian Speaker, during her visit to Colombo in February to participate in the 3rd Asian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) in Colombo as the Chief Guest, agreed to promote parliamentary exchanges with Sri Lanka, especially between young parliamentarians.

Sri Lanka delegation is to meet the President of India Pratibha Patil, Vice President Hamid Ansari and the representatives of Parliamentary Friendship Association.