Lucky 7 so far at PCs for Divi Neguma, North remaining

Thursday, 4 October 2012 02:03 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Government has received the support from a majority of the Provincial Councils except for the North for plans to establish a new department by combining several currently existing poverty alleviation agencies.

The Divineguma Bill was passed by the North Central, Southern and Sabaragamuwa Provincial Councils yesterday. Previously PCs in Western, Wayamba, Uva and Eastern passed it as well.

Government has decided to establish the Divi Neguma Development Department by combining the five institutions including the Up country Development Authority, the Southern Development Authority, and Sri Lanka Samurdhi Authority.