Independence Day ceremony at Parliamentary grounds

Saturday, 31 January 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

This year’s Independence Day celebration will be held on 4 February at 8 a.m. at the Parliamentary ground in Sri Jayawardanepura, Kotte. Sri Lanka will celebrate its 67th Independence Day on 4 February this year. According to Government Information Department sources the state ceremony will be held under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena under the theme ‘Piripun Maubimak – Abiman Heta Dinak’ (a prosperous motherland – a dignifying tomorrow). The sources quoting Minister of Home Affairs and Fisheries Joseph Michael Perera say that prior to the commencement of the ceremony floral tributes will be laid at the statue of the first Prime Minister of Sri Lanka D.S. Senanayake opposite Independence Square, Colombo 7 at the auspicious time of 7:30 a.m. Minister Perera had said so while addressing a press briefing at the Information Department yesterday. The independence parade will consist of 5,922 tri forces, police, civil defence force and youth brigade personnel while a cultural troupe of 600 is also set to perform at the ceremony. Preceding the ceremony religious observances will be held with an all night Pirith chanting ceremony at the Independence Square on 2 February and an alms giving ceremony on the following day. Hindu, Islamic and Christian religious ceremonies will also be held in parallel.