Four power plants for public viewing

Tuesday, 14 December 2010 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The public will be offered the opportunity to view four major hydro power plants in the country. The public can view the Kelanitissa, Victoria, Samanalawewa and Wimalasurendra hydro power plants from today, Media Secretary to the Ministry of Power and Energy told

The Ceylon Electricity Board has appointed Coordinating Officers to facilitate the visitors who turn up to view the power plants. The Ministry officials said that a date and time will have to be reserved for this purpose.

For Information and reservations, the visitors could contact the Deputy General Manager of the Hydro Power Plants — Kelanitissa on 0112437426 and 0112423897, Samanala-weva on 0112392248 and 0112424365, Victoria on 0812224568 and 0812235431 and Wimalasurendra on 0512232083 and 0512232085.

The Ministry of Power and Energy informs that principals of the relevant schools will have to make a request at the school level for the students to visit the power plants.