Episcopal Ordination of 15th Bishop of Colombo today

Saturday, 14 May 2011 00:13 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Episcopal ordination and installation of Venerable Dhiloraj Ranjit Canagasabey as the 15th Bishop of Colombo will be held on Saturday, 14 May at 9 a.m at the Cathedral of Christ the Living Saviour, Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo 7.  

The consecrating bishops are, the Rt. Revd. Duleep de Chickera, Vicar General and Archbishop’s Commissary — the outgoing bishop, the Rt. Revd. Shantha Francis, Presiding Bishop of the Church of Ceylon and Bishop of Kurunegala, the Rt. Revd.  Paul Sarker, Bishop of Dacca (as representative of the Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Revd. Dr. Rowan Williams), the Rt. Revd. Dr. Euyakim Mar Coorilos Episcopal (representing the sister Malankara Mar Thoma Church, Kerala) and retired Bishops the Rt. Revd. Andrew Kumarage, the Rt. Revd. Kenneth Fernando and the Rt. Revd. Kumara Illangasinghe. The Church’s local and world ecumenical partners will also participate

The consecration will be attended by senior clergy from Anglican and other NCC churches as well as the Roman Catholic Church, in addition to many local and foreign dignitaries, diocesan councilors and representatives of churches in the dioceses of Colombo and Kurunegala.