Dayasiri garners record 336,327 preferential votes

Monday, 23 September 2013 01:06 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Former UNP MP and UPFA’s current Chief Ministerial aspirant Dayasiri Jayasekara has secured a record 336,327 preferential votes in the Saturday’s election for the North Western Provincial Council. Johan Fernando, the son of Internal Trade Minister Johnston Fernando, got 134,423 preferential votes whilst D.B. Herath came third with 60, 767 votes. Dayasiri, Johan and former Chief Minister Athula Wijesinghe were key aspirants for the top post at NWP. UPFA won 34 seats in the NWP with its 705,188 votes including two bonus seats. UNP secured 12 seats for its 257,011 votes.