C’wealth observer mission for parliamentary poll

Friday, 31 July 2015 00:49 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Former President of Malta George Abela will lead a team of 14 election observers from the Commonwealth that will observe the 17 August parliamentary election, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) said.

MFA Spokes-person Maheshini Colonne told reporters yesterday that the Commonwealth Observer Mission would include nine eminent persons drawn from Malaysia, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Trinidad and Tobago and Nigeria and five officials from the Commonwealth.

The Elections Commissioner had extended invitations to both the Commonwealth and the European Union, to observe the parliamentary election