Constitutional Council to send nominees to remaining independent commissions to President

Saturday, 7 November 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

karu-jayasuriyaThe Constitutional Council set up by the 19th Amendment to the Constitution was convened in Parliament yesterday in order to finalise members for the five independent commissions left to be constituted.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, who is Chairman of the Council, led the meeting. The Constitutional Council’s list of nominees for the De-limitation Commission, the Finance Commission, the Audit Services Commission, the Elections Commission and the National Planning Commission will be sent to President Maithripala Sirisena for his approval, the Speaker’s Office said in a media release.

 A nominee was also put forward for approval by the President, for the vacancy created on the Human Rights Commission following the resignation of one of its members.