Alliance and JVP start handing over nominations

Saturday, 11 July 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Asanga Chamal-Rajapaksa-nomination

Former Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa signing nominations papers to contest from the Hambantota District​ Chandima-Weerakkody

Former Deputy Speaker Chandima Weerakkody signing nomination papers to contest from the Galle District​ Geetha-Kumarasinghe

Geetha Kumarasinghe​ Ranil-Wickremesinghe

The UPFA and JVP started handing over nominations from yesterday for the forthcoming general election. 

Accordingly, Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala de Silva handed over his party nomination list for the Badulla District to receiving officer Nimal Abeysiri. Deputy Minister Lakshman Senewiratne and former MP Dilan Perera were also present. 

The JVP has handed over nominations for the Districts of Kalutara, Puttalam, Polonnaruwa, and Vavuniya.  

The Frontline Socialist party also handed over its nominations for Colombo, Vavuniya, Ampara, Anuradhapura and Matale District last morning.   

The Election Secretariat stated that the Democratic Party handed over its nominations for Kalutara, Kegalle, Matale and Kurunegala Districts last morning.

In addition, the Janasetha Peramuna has handed over nominations for Trincomalee and Matale Districts.

Two independent groups for Badulla and another two groups for Batticaloa have handed over nominations.

The Ilangai Tamil Arasu Kachchi (TNA) was scheduled to hand over nominations for Batticaloa, Jaffna, Vanni and Trincomalee Districts yesterday and for the Ampara District on Monday. Receiving nominations for the 17 August general election would be closed 12 midnight on Monday, 13 July.

The Elections Commissioner said 129 independent groups have deposited bonds by Thursday. 

Former Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa signed his nomination papers to contest for the Hambantota District under the UPFA ticket. Others included former Deputy Speaker Chandima Weerakkody and MP Geetha Kumarasinghe.

Western Provincial Council Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga has also signed nomination papers to contest the general election for Gampaha District under the UPFA ticket.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe signed his nominations on Thursday to contest for the Colombo District whilst former President Mahinda Rajapaksa signed his nomination papers to contest the general election under the UPFA ticket for the District of Kurunegala.

Five parties file nominations in Jaffna

By N. Parameswaran

Five political parties and three independent groups yesterday filed nomination papers in Jaffna. 

The political parties were the TNA, UNP, EPDP, Front Socialist Party and Janasatha Peramuna.

Ossie’s son Asanga to contest from Gampaha district

Asanga Abeyagoona sekera has signed nominations on 9 July to contest the upcoming general election from the Gampaha district by the invitation of the United National Party. Asanga is the son of late Ossie Abeyagoonasekera who was a popular politician and Member of Parliament from the United National Party.