Special Commission to probe Govt. salary structures gazetted

Thursday, 23 August 2018 00:05 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

A 15-member Special Commission to investigate the salary structures within the Government service sector has been gazetted under the directive of President Maithripala Sirisena.

S. Ranugge has been appointed Chairman, while H. G. Sumanasinghe has been appointed Secretary to the Commission. The 15-member commission includes: S. Ranugge, K. L. L. Wijeratne, T.P. Collure, C. P. Siriwardene, Sudharma Karunaratne, Janaka Sugathadasa, Dharani S. Wijethilake, Lalith R. de Silva, G. S. Edirisinghe, A. R. Deshapriya, B. P. P. S. Abeygunarathne, Dr. Palitha Abeykoon, P. Thangamayil, S. D. Jayakody, and M.C. Wickramasekara.

The Special Commission is tasked: to conduct a study of existing salary structures in the public service; to minimise salary anomalies among different services in the entire public service and in State Corporations, Statutory Boards, and Government-owned companies, through a systematic evaluation of the nature of the role and responsibilities of the staff of such services; and to make recommendations to provide an optimal salary structure for the State sector, devoid of salary anomalies, to enable the recruitment of qualified officers from the labour market and retain them.