Speaker nominates 13 lawmakers to Panel of Chairs

Wednesday, 9 January 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Speaker nominated 13 lawmakers to the Panel of Chairs in Parliament yesterday.

Representing the Unity Government as well as the Opposition, lawmakers Sriyani Wijewickrama, Bimal Rathnayake, Anura Sidney Jayaratne, K. Thurairetnasingam, Janaka Wakkumbura, Velu Kumar, Mayantha Dissanayake, Tharaka Balasuriya, Mujibur Rahuman, Harshana Rajakaruna, Dr. Thusitha Wijemanna, Hesha Withanage, and Wijepala Hettiarachchi were in the list of nominations the Speaker announced.

According to Parliament Standing Order 140, the Speaker should nominate at the commencement of every session of Parliament a Panel of Chairs of not less than four Members to act as temporary Chair of Committees when requested by the Deputy Speaker, or in the absence of the Deputy Speaker, by the Deputy Chairperson of Committees, and the constitution of the Panel may from time to time. Anything which may be done by the Deputy Speaker may also be done by a temporary Chair when presiding in place of the Deputy Speaker. (AH)