SLPP Nawalage Stanley Dias elected as Mayor of Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia Municipal Council

Tuesday, 27 March 2018 01:17 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) member Nawalage Stanley Dias was elected as the Mayor of the Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia Municipal Council this morning with 23 votes in an open ballot.

Sunethra Ranasinghe, the mayoral candidate of the United National Party which received a majority at the local government election, received 21 votes. Both SLPP and UNP have 19 members each in the Council. Four members of the JVP abstained from voting. Kirthi Udawatte of SLFP was elected as the Deputy Mayor with 25 votes.

Saman Lal Fernando, mayoral candidate of the SLPP for Moratuwa Municipal Council was re-elected as the Mayor with 23 votes. Samantha Silva of SLPP was elected the deputy mayor. 

(Colombo Page)